Captive Agent possibly going independent Need some advice

magent1

Hi everyone,
I'm a captive agent in CA, opened my office a little over a year ago. It has been moderately successful, but after talking to a few agents and having some major issues with my current company, I am looking into opening an insurance brokerage. I have contacted a few of the big names that broker, but I still need help. How do i get contracted with more companies? What is the best way to get started? The more companies I can work with from the start, the more choices my clients will have. Any info from a broker or independent agent would be much appreciated.

Surprising that no one answered and I just need the post.:D

I'm kind of in the same boat as you. From what I've seen in similar threads, alot of the agents recommend calling brokers near you (but not close enough for direct competition) and asking them for contacts.

That, or contracting through a GA.

Good luck with your search!

I just branched out on my own in January of this year. I have contracted with several of the health insurance companies such as; Aetna, United Healthcare, Mutual of Omaha, Anthem, Blue Shield, Health Net, and others. What county are you focusing on?

You can ask assistance or help from other experienced brokers. A mere word of mouth can help you start up and you can also make some research in your area.

Hi everyone,
I'm a captive agent in CA, opened my office a little over a year ago. It has been moderately successful, but after talking to a few agents and having some major issues with my current company, I am looking into opening an insurance brokerage. I have contacted a few of the big names that broker, but I still need help. How do i get contracted with more companies? What is the best way to get started? The more companies I can work with from the start, the more choices my clients will have. Any info from a broker or independent agent would be much appreciated.