Captive Carriers first right of refusal

InsuranceRus

Expert
I am new agent with Farmers, for the P & C side of the business I am a captive agent. However, as far as Life I am non-captive, but Farmers wants the first right of refusal. How can company track whether whether I am writting policies with another company or not?

It seems like nothing theres nothing but unhappy Farmers agents there. What I took from the letter is that the requirement to them is 4 a month.

In previous months they have covered the captivity part of things. I think they mostly cover P&C issues, though. With life ins., you could pretty much go out and write anything on anybody- without them knowing.... but if they ever found out, they could raise heck.

Let's say you sold the Husband a Farmers life policy and the wife did not qualify so you went immediately with XYZ graded company, for example. The underwriter does a phone interview with the husband, asks about the wife's life insurance.... bingo. I am not saying Farmers does this, just saying it could happen. What does your contract say about failing to give Farmers first crack at it?

I'm a Farmers Agent. If you want to write outside Farmers, do it with caution, but choose a life/health product that Farmers doesn't write, or is not competitive at all with, then write that. If you're a good producer for Farmers on the P&C side, as well as writing life through them too, even if they find out your writing a bit outside of Farmers, you'll most likely get a slap on the wrist, and told not to do it.

Have you went to your DM about this? Or you figure, do now and ask forgiveness later?