Captive Newbie with Yet Another Question

blaze1x

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I've tried to backtrack through older posts and find out the answer to this next question, but no dice. Here's the question:

As a captive agent, I'm only able to offer one product (Assurant). Now I know that I don't work for the insurance company, so what I'm confused about is this: Why not offer the other insurance plans out there like Blue Cross or Aetna or Humana, etc? I know what I'm taught, that the other companies all put out crap insurance and that as soon as there is a better product we'll sell it......

but seriously, why would my brokerage risk losing all that potential money by not offering a cheaper product for the people with shallow pockets?

Thanks

Can't speak for your state but Blue Cross, and Aetna do not have General Agent contracts in california so you cannot get overrides. I am curious to see if you are truly captive or if that is the reason. Now if you work for a P and C agency then that could be the reason for example State Farm that has an agreement with Assurant. Hope this helps.

Can't speak for your state but Blue Cross, and Aetna do not have General Agent contracts in california so you cannot get overrides. I am curious to see if you are truly captive or if that is the reason. Now if you work for a P and C agency then that could be the reason for example State Farm that has an agreement with Assurant. Hope this helps.

I was more realistically thinking of the Humana and Golden Rule's of the world.

Blaze,
Get appointed with these companies yourself and offer them along with Assurant. How can there be an agency (other than State Farm as MHart mentioned) where you can only sell Assurant? I've never even heard of that...

How would they even know you have other companies?

Newmindfashion, In Georgia anyone can go to the insurance commissioners website, type in an agents name and see all the companies he's appointed with, and who he HAS been appointed with.