Captive Team Member Compensation

ahuff541

Captive Agent Compensation

Hello,

I graduated college a little less than a year and have been working at a State Farm Office.

The previous agent left and the off is in a task period servicing the book until the new agent takes over. The new agent asked me to present them a compensation plan for myself? I will be the only team member with experience.

I know my work load will increase with assisting in training new employees and so fourth.

just looking for some possible ideas for a compensation scheme with base + commission / bonuses.

I am debating to apply for positions at LM or AAA because the pay does seem higher with possibly better experience. I do have aspirations to run my own agency but not sure if captive or indy is way to go.

Just new and looking for advice

Last edited:
Captive Producer Compensation

What I came up with was;

My employer has no current ins exp.

Base $16-20 hr ( I will be training all new employees and some csr work for the first few months until they understand the systems)
P&C - 3% prem or $20 a policy
Life - 20%
Disability & health - not sure yet

The office goal for auto's will most likely be 40-50 a month, 25 fire I'm guessing.

My personal goal would be 25 & 13.

Any other ideas for possible bonuses for increasing production? Have not proposed this to the agent yet. Does seem reasonable or could I shoot for more on anything?

Just a little bit of info from my close friend who opened up a SF office in Feb of 2016.

He worked for SF for about 5 years and finally decided to go through the rigorous training and work to start his own SF office. His office location would be in Jax.

He asked me, since we were both single and no kids, if I wanted to join him in Jax and split rent at an apt to live so I moved on up from orlando.