Car Salesman/ P&C Salesman

RobGarcia93

Hey guys, I just got my P&C License in Texas. I have no insurance sales experience but I have over 10 years of auto sales experience.

I work for my families car dealership. 25 years in business strong, and i'm wondering what y'all think of the idea of me selling primarily auto insurance to my customers as an independent agent on location. I will have zero overhead, and generally speaking I work on my own terms. Every buyer needs car insurance and that can be a speed bump at times. Car sales are doing good however I am not overwhelmed with work here so I think it'll be possible to manage both car sales and insurance sales to my customers... We're a smallish used car lot with about 40 cars fairly new no older than 5 year old cars.

What are some of the drawbacks of no experience in insurance sales, getting appointed with carriers, should I get experience working for an agency first, any tips getting appointed? etc.

Thanks in advance for tips and advice!! God bless.

There is definitely a benefit to the dealership to having an in house insurance guy on hand. I know primarily you are talking auto, but most auto is going to be discounted heavily by being able to package it with a good home policy. Getting experience working for an agency is always helpful, however, if you are going to specialize in what you are going to sell, and you embrace your purpose as just an accommodating the family business kind of guy you could make a go of it potentially.

Much of you getting appointed will depend on your locale as well. Some areas are extremely difficult to get appointed with certain carriers and other areas are easy so where you are (what city) does matter.