Choices

hjayson

Expert
So I've been contacted by Northwestern Mutual, Farmers, and State Farm for a position. Any advice on the pros and cons of each. I'm brand new to the ins world and would like to choose the option that will teach me the most.

So I've been contacted by Northwestern Mutual, Farmers, and State Farm for a position. Any advice on the pros and cons of each. I'm brand new to the ins world and would like to choose the option that will teach me the most.

Northwestern will probably teach you the most, state farm will probably be the least stress and a guaranteed paycheck.

Depends on what type of insurance you want to market. We need more information about your goals and desires.

Well I like the options of p/c because you have more to offer your customer, but it sounds like Health and Life makes you more money. I'm looking to help people while being able to support my wife and kids. Northwestern teaches you a lot in a short time but doesn't seem to offer much support on the leads side. Being brand new to the financial world is a big worrying. Farmers is eager to hire me as well but I've heard quite a few bad things. State Farm just entered the game, but Northwestern has made and offer to me and will pay for all my licenses I need. I don't know who has the best support system for new agents.

Once again, it depends. "Best support system" is subjective.
If you choose Life, NMFN is as good as it gets. If you have a warm market of people to market to already, you are on your way. The training they give is top notch.
As someone who has teetered back and forth between L&H and P&C over the last 10 years, I would advise to not do that and choose just one and learn as much as you can about that segment.
If you choose P&C, I would also look at the other players in that space and don't settle for the two you mentioned.
Do you have a sales background?