Cluster F_________ed

Ok this is driving me nuts:goofy:

I have my P&C license in California I have no experience and no book. I researched a couple of clusters and they all seem to be a good deal if you are the cluster.
Would like to start selling HO insurance.

Wish list:
Binding authority
I get to keep my book
low startup fee
"easy" divorce clause.

Can anyone recommend a semi decent cluster in California for a newbie like me?

The only advice I can give you is to read the fine print. This is obvious advice, I know, but it can not be said enough. I can't elaborate on the details too much but I know an agency that really got screwed on a deal and we almost did with our agency. KNOW what you are getting into.

GOOD LUCK!

You need to add a selection of carriers to your wishlist.

You also need to realize you won't get everything on your wishlist. The only way to do that is to get direct appointments, which can be very difficult with some carriers, especially just starting out.

You need to realize that a cluster is putting themselves on the line for you. It really is a 2 way street, they don't want to put the time and energy into it if you want to leave 6 months later. What they are really providing you is access to carriers that you won't get on your own, but they do charge for that privilege.

You are doing the right thing by asking what it takes to get out if you want. This is always a messy process, for you, for the cluster and for the clients. The trick is to make sure the process is manageable.

Here is the challenge you will have. In most clusters, the broker of record (BOR) is the cluster, not you. This means they get paid the residuals and then forward them to you. If you can find one that makes you the BOR, then live is much better, but only a few do.

Seasoned agents can get confused in how the 'divorce' process will work. Ask a lot of questions, not just about you and your business, but also how it will impact the clients.