Cold Calling Help

crshieh

Hi, I am new to the insurance industry. I passed my state exam very recently, thank you "HomeService" for providing tips and advice for me in an earlier post.

I went through this forum very briefly and could not find a lot of information on cold calling. I was wondering if somebody could give me some pointers.

I understand I will face many rejections because all of a sudden the whole world has every plan out there when I start calling. I am fine by that. I understand it takes a lot of hard work and self motivation for this job. Hang ups before I even finish saying my name are discouraging. But my main concern is facing rude people. People that will lead me on and make me think they are interested. They ask products and talk on and on, and all of a sudden out of no where wham out a DO NOT CALL EVER AGAIN and hang up. Or I'll hear people in the background shouting, "just tell him to shut up already."

Things of those nature, I assume I will overcome eventually with time (at least I really hope so). One of those calls every now and then is "tolerable" for me. But a few in a row starts shattering my confidence. When I call, I feel like I am not as productive and efficient as I can be, as I seem to be spending more time trying to "regroup" myself and build up my confidence level again.

Coule somebody provide me any tips or advice on how to cope with these situations? Or should I just try to shake it off, dail another number and eventually grow out of it as time passes?

I greatly appreciate any advice. Thanks a lot.

I am selling Life and Health insurance. Right now, I am still in the beginning stages, so I am just cold calling the lists my manager gives me and setting up appointments.

I am selling Life and Health insurance. Right now, I am still in the beginning stages, so I am just cold calling the lists my manager gives me and setting up appointments.