Colonial Breakdown Por Favor

Agent49

I'm interested in adding Colonial as a main insurance line in my independent office, but I do have several questions. Whenever I read about Colonial I find that several terms are thrown around, but if I could get some clarification it would be appreciated. Of course the basics of some may be obvious. Sooo.... opener, enroller, coordinator. I get that you have to test and qualify in these positions, but is there an assigned commission and renewal structure based on these positions or do we have the option of adjusting it? I've also heard about sales leader tracks vs sales tracks and it appears that they structure commissions and bonuses different according to which track you decide you want to be part of. Also, if I'm a broker offering Colonial and I hire an agent to sell Colonial, do the commissions have to go directly split between us or can I divvy it out from the brokerage. Main reason for this question is that I want to maintain "ownership" of clients in case the agent ever strikes out on his own. Any help would be much appreciated.

You have good questions and you should ask the recruiter and he/she will be happy to answer you.

I wrote Colonial three years ago but gave it up because I felt I got screwed.

I'm sure things have changed but...

... when I was there, enrollers got a flat 15%. Coordinators got 4% (but on small groups this was usually split between the enroller and the opener.0

Openers got different comps based on the products that were sold (by the enroller.) Back then my groups would average me about 22% first year. I forget what the renewals were... which made no difference because when the recession hit hard most of my groups dropped Colonial... or they cut staff so deep there was not much premium collected.

The only people who made money were those who could open AND enroll. The amount of constant study and classes one had to attend order to be an enroller was too much for me... for too little money.