Colorado Bankers Life?

I seem to recall they wrote a decent critical illness plan some years ago. Never wrote anything with them and I thought they just faded away.

Rick

I seem to recall they wrote a decent critical illness plan some years ago. Never wrote anything with them and I thought they just faded away.

Rick

Here is where I'm going with this. I met with the 'head guy" from a local agency (PM me if you want their URL. I don't want to make it public.)

The agency has about 30 agents in Sacramento and the San Francisco area combined.

Their market, so they tell me, is unique. They sell (mostly) worksite (voluntary) benefits to the very-small business... like the small auto mechanic shop with 3 or 4 people. They sell to a lot of blue-collar sole-props... painters, landscapers, handimen, mom/pop retail etc.

According to them, this is a market that Aflac and Colonial and others don't bother with as they are too small. (As a Colonial agent I can verify some of this. While we can write whatever group we want, Colonial tells us not to bother with groups under 15 lives, 20+ being an even better cut-off.)

Their crit illness, accident, and term life plans are not subsitutes for a major med... but they tell me most of these companies don't have (can't afford) MM. The average YEARLY premium collected for a case is around $500. This is penny-ante stuff but it is payroll-deduct and simp-issue.

OK, I'm skeptical, but these guys have been selling the Colorado Bankers http://www.cbl-life.com/ stuff for 15 years and they do several million a year of permium (so they say.) They also sell Nationwide MM, but it's not their primary focus.

Their agents are not captive unless they take leads (appointments)... and only captive for work-sups... nothing else.