Combining P&C with Financial Advisor Practice

Hello,

I have my Life and Health, Series 7 and Series 66. I am just starting out, however my wife is a very successful Mortgage Banker with a 25 year old business. I am thinking of leveraging that with a new P&C business. My goal is to be able to cross-sell the P&C with life insurance and planning business. Does anyone have any comments or advice? I am concerned about compliance as well. And wondering if I should try this independent or if someone had advice on who I could partner with for both P&C and securities?

Thanks!

I am thinking of leveraging that with a new P&C business. My goal is to be able to cross-sell the P&C with life insurance and planning business. Does anyone have any comments or advice?

Not a recommended model.

How many people do you think are asking their money manager for advice on auto insurance?

About as many as ask an Allstate agent for financial planning advice.

In addition, what happens when their car insurance goes sky high because their 16 year old had a wreck? They get pissed, and move any "financial" products they may have with you...

Too dicey. Two different specialties.

Thanks for your response.
My thoughts were that I really would only do homeowners insurance since I have about 75-100 closings a month and then cross-sell the planning/insurance. I would not persue any other forms of P&C.

My thoughts were that I really would only do homeowners insurance since I have about 75-100 closings a month and then cross-sell the planning/insurance.

The problem with that concept is that the majority of P&C insurers give a substantial discount to have both the house and cars with them.

Because of the property insurance situation here in Florida, it might mitigate the problem somewhat.