Community Based Marketing

Denniston

Expert
I'm a pretty new agent (7 months).

Everyone tells me that I need to develop referral partners in other industries that have senior clients. (P&C agents, senior housing, churches, community centers etc.) I'm trying to develop a process for cultivating these relationships, and seem to be a little stuck. I would love to hear about what you have found that works to develop these relationships.
  • Do you start with a letter, phone call, drop in?
  • Do have any print pieces you send/leave?
  • What is your pitch? What is your offer?
  • Where have found to be most productive?
Any help would be very much appreciated.
Thanks!

Join a networking group. If for no other reason than to learn how to productively network.

Understand that networking does work, but it takes a long time to see results. Minimum 6 months.

Send a Thank you for EVERY referral, whether you sell it or not.

When you join the networking group, there will be other financial planners. Ask for referrals to other planners. Same thing for the P&C person.

Remember that anyone you meet is going to have a level of skepticism until you have hit 3 years. People who have made this work know that 90% of people who start are going to be gone 3 years later.

I partner with financial planners. And my pitch is "They are going to talk to someone. Do you want them talking to me or one of the people who are mailing them a postcard? The person mailing them a postcard probably wants to roll their 401K into an annuity, too".

Great comments throughout...thanks for the feedback!

Join a networking group. If for no other reason than to learn how to productively network.

Understand that networking does work, but it takes a long time to see results. Minimum 6 months.
I totally understand that. It's sort of a catch-22. Any ideas where to look for these networking groups?