Confused About which Company to Go With? Beginner Here

jm1080

FL
Hey everyone, I am working towards my 215 license. Studying with TesTeachers, it seems like a decent site, they state in 14 days you get everything done to pass the test, but well I'm way over the 14 days, not as easy as I thought.

Anyways I was offered sponsorship for the 215, 6 and 63 by New York Life, I met a friend who has been with them for 30+ years and he is making way over the 6 figure mark. So he offered to help and mentor me. Sounds good right?

Well I'm confused about who to go with. My other friend is an independent agent and he says New York Life is ok, but as independent you get much higher percentage of pay out. And you offer clients what is best compared to just one product such as New York Life.

Now another friend is leading me towards Primerica and seems like a pyramid scheme for insurance, from my quick google research. But seems as there are more payouts and you don't have to meet quotas, where as with New York Life you do. The pros to New York Life is that my mentor will push me to Eagle Strategies which they will sponsor me for the series 7, etc.

Now I'm just confused as with New York Life there is less commission and quotas, but I do want a good future in this business. Can I do Primerica and New York Life? I'm still studying, but have to make up my mind soon! Any help appreciated!

Well, I'm not sure where to start.

Here's the bottom line: If you truly want a good future in this business, the first thing you need to do is stop worrying about payouts, commissions and quotas. If your attention is on payouts, commissions and quotas, it's pretty likely that you won't be thinking enough about what is best and most appropriate for your client. And this industry already has more than enough of that.

And no, you can't work for two companies at one time.