Confused New Agent in Tamarac

junathompson

Currently I have 20 years of real estate experience and 10 years of owning my own RE office. Recently licensed in Florida in Insurance,(health life & annuity, working on PC) I am so confused should I join an MGA or local Agency? I have written some health polices within the last year about 40 directly with Humana and United Health. My main concern is if a company should close or change the rules and regulations would I be protected if I'm being paid directly from the insurance company. Can the agency adjust my commissions with the insurance company without my knowledge, for future sales? In addition if I leave would I still get my residuals? It seems as an independent it may take me while to have the production to maintain independent relationships. Thank you so much for your expertise

JT

Currently I have 20 years of real estate experience and 10 years of owning my own RE office. Recently licensed in Florida in Insurance,(health life & annuity, working on PC) I am so confused should I join an MGA or local Agency? I have written some health polices within the last year about 40 directly with Humana and United Health. My main concern is if a company should close or change the rules and regulations would I be protected if I'm being paid directly from the insurance company. Can the agency adjust my commissions with the insurance company without my knowledge, for future sales? In addition if I leave would I still get my residuals? It seems as an independent it may take me while to have the production to maintain independent relationships. Thank you so much for your expertise

JT

Good questions.

The only certain way is go direct with the carrier, and the biz is yours as long as you stay licensed or certified, and can afford being on as earned commission.