Considering opening my own agency

Double Agent

:goofy: Hi All! I'm new to the forum and have ALOT of questions. First, about me. I've been licensed in the State of Oklahoma for 10 years as a P&C agent. I've worked for an independent agency and am now the Personal Lines Supervisor. I've trained many a new employee. I think the time is coming for me to venture out on my own. I'm at that point in my life where working for the other guy is no longer rewarding or satisfying. Question is HOW? I have a good working relationship with several company reps. I don't think getting appointed will be a problem. I don't have a L&H license nor do I think I want one as I have never sold L&H. My expertise is in Home, Auto and Dwelling Fire. How does one start their own agency in Oklahoma? What are the licensing requirements? I know I must have E&O insurance. I am also a travel agent and operate a travel agency from my home so I already have all the necessary equipment to run an insurance agency from my home. There's not all that much difference between the two occupations. Can this be done? Can a travel agency and an insurance agency operate side by side. If it can be done, I'm willing to open a store front later on once my book of business gets built up. Is any of this possible and where do I start? My Progressive rep told me that I should consider buying an existing agency near my town. Problem with that is they don't exactly advertise in the classifieds. Suggestions and advice are warmly welcome! Tell me your thoughts on the subject.

I have heard Oak Tree Financial will hepl out in purchasing and selling agencies. I don't have a clue how they work or if it is a good idea but it might be worth a shot. Thats all the iinput I can give on this subject as I am a L&H agent. I would love to start an agency in the senior market but I don't know how.

Considering my own agency