Considering US Health Group

I am a newly licensed agent in Florida (Tampa/St.Petersburg area). I have my 2-15 license (Life, Health & Annuity). I am being pursued by Liberty National, Bankers Life & US Health Grp. Can someone give me I little insight on these companies, good or bad?
Also, I have been browsing this forum for a few weeks and I am very interested in the services offered by the IHIAA. I would really prefer to go independent and utilize my past 10 years of sales experience. My fear is not going independent, but having not been formally trained I feel that my only option is to sign-up with one of the companies above, get trained, then leave. Then there is the problem of being locked into a (indentured servitude agreement) contract with one of these big firms and loose all future rights to the business I write.
Is there a training site or curriculum out there that someone could suggest?
Any sound advice would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance

I'm here in the Bay Area as well...

The companies that you have mentioned are all "second-tier" (if not third) type operations.

Going independent with no industry experience is a recipe for frustration and disaster. Please don't do it. You need to make your bones.

Do you want to do primarily life, or health?

I think I'm leaning more towards focusing on Health, then I could pitch Life and other products once I'm in the door.

Yes, it's a good door opener to other products. I've had a lot of success with that approach.

Just my opinion naturally, but what I think you'll learn from the US Health Group is how to ram second rate coverage down people's throats. Not a good approach for long-term client building...

If I were you (and of course I'm not) what I would do is get started with one of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida's "Contracted General Agencies". You'll get lead support, training and the like (Benco in NPR is a good one).