Contacting home/auto clients for life insurance

pcguy

Expert
I am with a personal/commercial P&C agency that has NEVER solicited our current clients for life insurance. We have over 6000 active personal lines policies with who knows how many names/dob's.

Someone suggested putting a simple letter together prior to their birthdate with a quote (couple scenarios), a business card, and an invitation to call me to discuss. Very low pressure, but probably too low pressure. What do other people do?

Following up with a phone call will produce some more activity but does anyone else have a good suggestion or system they prefer? Even a letter that seems to get peoples attention? My background is strictly P&C so this is a bit of leap for me.

I am with a personal/commercial P&C agency that has NEVER solicited our current clients for life insurance. We have over 6000 active personal lines policies with who knows how many names/dob's.

Someone suggested putting a simple letter together prior to their birthdate with a quote (couple scenarios), a business card, and an invitation to call me to discuss. Very low pressure, but probably too low pressure. What do other people do?

Following up with a phone call will produce some more activity but does anyone else have a good suggestion or system they prefer? Even a letter that seems to get peoples attention? My background is strictly P&C so this is a bit of leap for me.

Here's a process I've seen used with a lot of success:

One month prior to their birthday, send a letter along the lines of, "noticed you have a birthday coming up. If you were thinking of making any changes to your life insurance, now would be a good time - before it gets more expensive." Call me blah, blah, blah...

Wouldn't suggest sending a "quote(s)". This isn't P&C, and then they have no reason to talk to you...

Here's a process I've seen used with a lot of success: