Couple Getting Divorced

SamIam

Guru
1000 Post Club
They will not file jointly this year. How does this work. Will they use household income or just his income.

Re: Couple Getting Divorsed

I have heard so many different answers to simple questions like this that I don't even know who to believe. As a new agent I feel like I am up a sheit creek without a paddle. Everything is so damn confusing.

What is the date of the divorce?

I just ask, because if they're getting divorced today and applying tomorrow, yes. Definitely would use their personal income and household size of 1. That's nice and simple.

If they are applying before the divorce, it's another story entirely. It's my understanding that they would apply with household income, household size 2, and claim to file jointly (as is their current status). When divorced, they would have to notify the state of their change of marital status, and re-enroll separately.

No joint filing equals no subsidy is correct, but don't forget that divorce is a qualifying event. So when the divorce is final, they can redo the "couple" policy.

How can I get coverage outside of open enrollment?

Buying a Marketplace plan outside open enrollment

In order to buy a Marketplace health insurance plan outside the open enrollment period, you must have a qualifying life event. Qualifying life events that create a special enrollment period include:
  • Getting married
  • Having, adopting, or placement of a child
  • Permanently moving to a new area that offers different health plan options
  • Losing other health coverage (for example due to a job loss, divorce, loss of eligibility for Medicaid or CHIP, expiration of COBRA coverage, or a health plan being decertified). Note: Voluntarily quitting other health coverage or being terminated for not paying your premiums are not considered loss of coverage. Losing coverage that is not minimum essential coverage is also not considered loss of coverage.)