CPA Getting Ready to Start in NC Senior Market

condosmart

I've been a CPA for 30 years and recently decided to try something new. (not your typical CPA!). I'm in the process of getting my Life/Health/Medicare/LTC license - I thought it would be a good fit. I plan to take the state exams in the next few weeks. I think the Senior Market has the most potential with all the baby boomers retiring.
Since I'm just starting out in insurance, I have many questions and need some advice:
1 - I'm in North Carolina (Charlotte area). It appears that this area is flooded with insurance agencies. I'm open to relocation, but would prefer to stay in NC because of my licenses (CPA, Real Estate Broker, Insurance). What are the best areas in NC for seniors? It appears that for selling P&C, you're better off in a large city, but for senior insurance???

2 - Once I get the licenses, is it possible to partner up with an existing agency for on the job training for awhile? I plan to eventually become independent - will this be a problem when its time for me to leave?

3 - How hard is it to market to seniors? Do they normally stay with the same agency for 50 years or are they open to change? Is cost the main driving force or is it more the relationships?

4 - What's the best way to market to them? Internet, direct mail, free educational seminars, leads groups, chambers, etc???

5 - Within the senior market, can anyone recommend a niche? I'm trying to narrowly define my agency - so I can specialize in something that's important to them and stand out from the crowd. I thought maybe target the hispanic market. Another idea was to move to Pinehurst and target all the golfers...

What do you think? Please don't sugarcoat it - I'm originally from NY - I can take it.

Thank you!

My wife is a CPA that I drug kicking and screaming into our insurance agency several years back. Our focus has been on the senior market for over 16-years.