Criminal Background- Show Stopper for Independent Agent?

rse123

Hello-

I have worked as a Finance Analyst for various insurance companies for over 10 years. I have an MBA in Finance and ChFC designation. I also have an excellent current income and credit score. I have not yet left my W2 job but am seriously considering starting my own independent health and life insurance agency.

I just obtained my Texas state license today (8/11/2015) after disclosing 3 Misdemeanor convictions and 2 Misdemeanor deferred adjudications from the 1990s. None of the offenses involved fraud or dishonesty nor do they have any bearing on my current ability to perform in any capacity. They are not offenses for which a license may be denied according to the Texas Insurance Code, Texas Administrative Code, or 18 U.S.C. 1033. The disclosure process for my license was exhausting and included providing original certified copies of every court document, explaining the circumstances leading up to each event, indicating my age at the time of each event (17-24 years old), and providing letters of recommendation from persons aware of my criminal past.

As an independent agent, I will now have to work with various FMOs to contract with 20-50 different carriers to be competitive. From what I have gathered, each carrier has their own application for appointments, most of which require extensive criminal background disclosure and documentation. I am extremely concerned about the administrative burden and risk of not getting contracted due to my past. My questions follow:

• When applying with each carrier, will I need to disclose all records requested on each application even though I have already passed the TDI background check and obtained my state license?