Critical Illness Sales Strategies

gregger

Expert
Hi all, I posted this thread here because I am thinking LI salespeople are probably the most likely to also be selling CII.

I'm a very experienced life sales guy myself but I realize I need to be selling CII and I've never marketed it or really had a strategy in place to start selling more policies.

I'm thinking of bringing this product up during meetings with prospective clients in the hopes of selling them on the idea of comprehensive coverage instead of just LI alone. I am not going to be asking them if they know anyone who has had a heart attack or a cancer....so please don't suggest that. I'm new with CI but even I know thats dumb. I'd sooner say something like "We all know someone, whether they be a relative, or a friend, or even a friend of a friend who has suffered a heart attack, or been diagnosed with cancer......". I think thats a safe statement and it's highly unlikely to be refuted.

Anyways.....whats been working for you out there? How are you getting your clients to buy CII ??

Thanks for all your help!!

Hi all, I posted this thread here because I am thinking LI salespeople are probably the most likely to also be selling CII.

Anyways.....whats been working for you out there? How are you getting your clients to buy CII ??

Thanks for all your help!!

I never sold a CI policy until I focused on health insurance. Not saying that you can't or won't, but I didn't develop an effective approach, until I was familiar with their health coverage.

One of the BGAs that I use for life has a couple of CI policies in their portfolio, and they tell me that I'm the only agent that sells them regularly. Now, it's kind of strange to me that it is coupled with life.

Colorado Bankers offered their plan as a rider to a term insurance policy. Probably a few others. Don't know any more who does stand alone, who offers as a rider.