Damaged Laptop Covered?

cdemikols

This may be a silly question, but I am unable to get in touch with my agent. (Not able to get a call back for a few days).

I have a laptop that has no extended warranty. Recently, with no damage, no dropping or anything, I am getting a red line down my screen. I did some research, tried to fix it and apparently it is just a problem that can go wrong with screens. (Sometimes caused by power surges.)

I don't remember there being a power surge while I was home, but my laptop is plugged in and on when I am not home sometimes. I am not sure if this would be covered in renter's insurance however, Any information would be appreciated greatly; I'm new to Renter's insurance.

The short answer is probably no coverage.
Laptops are not that susceptible to power surges, which might be covered, but you would have a hard time convincing anyone that a power surge caused a screen problem, since laptops have batteries which act as a big surge suppressor.

Simply put, its a manufacturing defect (or just normal failure), which is not covered under a renters policy.

On the other hand, some renters policies have some very strange provisions that extend special coverage to computers. This is usually an extra cost option, but it may cover this damage. I've personally only seen this on some state farm policies, and its clearly spelled out on the dec page.

Dan

Most HO-4 (renters) policies do include as a covered peril:
"Sudden and accidental damage from artificially generated electrical current".

That said, they may make you get an expert to sign off on the fact the damage was caused by a surge. All this usually entails is going down to Best Buy with a lightning or surge affidavit and paying them to take a look at the unit in question and getting the form notarized with them, should they determine that surge was the source of the damage.