Desparately Seeking Advice: Intimated by Old Leads

newindc

Greetings All,

I am very new to the insurance industry (mortgage protection/life insurance) and I really want to make it as my career. There are many things I love about the industry, but there is one thing that I hate--calling old leads. I have heard many say that a lead is a lead is a lead. I have heard other agents say it is a mental thing, etc. For some reason I am having a problem getting past the fact that the leads that I am calling have not only already been called before but they are three months to a year old. The reason that I have the old leads is because my upline, to help me build a reserve to pay for fresh leads, is only giving me leads that have either never been reached or were called by never followed through on their appointment.

I guess the other problem is that when I call they either don't remember, hang up, or tell me they are no longer interested. I know this can happen with fresh leads but it seems worse when they are old but then again, maybe it is all in my head.

Is there any way that I can move pass the intimidation? Are there any suggestions as to how I can get the prospects attention as opposed to using a script that sounds like they just sent in the lead card yesterday? Please, any advice would be greatly and humbly appreciated.

Last edited:
Silly idea...but think of a material item that you really want (Plasma TV, new car, Somarco's little black book). Keep that in your mind as you are calling. Each call gets you closer to getting that special something you want.

Yes, I know. Silly. But I actually still do that every now and then.