Difference Between IMO, FMO, Etc.

JMillz

I am new to this side of industry and am curious what the difference between IMO, FMO and whatever other MO's there are. and what are the benefits or downsides to them? all information you have for this topic is greatly appreciated. thank you!

They're a term that is used and abused.

A true IMO is a shop that is fantastically large and usually commits to literally millions of dollars of production on an annual basis with life insurance companies.

Most people on here for whatever reason have gotten into that habit of calling their uplines an IMO/FMO, regardless of what they really are.

Typically an IMO/FMO is a top tier contract direct with the carrier and they have a few steps between them and a street agent.

There are advantages to working with uplines, including training, leads support, help getting cases issued, etc. Some folks just want contracts and have production histories to justify high commission levels, others need a lot of hand holding and should be working at or below street and/or join an organization like ILIAA.org which can provide a lot of training and support.

ahhh i see.. being that i just started in the indy side selling preneed... would u advise i stick just with pre need or tap into others as well? and if i do go with another one do i find a new upline for new company? or ask to go thru my current. He is now providing leads for me so im thinking he might not want to issue me leads if he knows i might be using for another company?

ahhh i see.. being that i just started in the indy side selling preneed... would u advise i stick just with pre need or tap into others as well? and if i do go with another one do i find a new upline for new company? or ask to go thru my current. He is now providing leads for me so im thinking he might not want to issue me leads if he knows i might be using for another company?