Direct Mail Lead Company or Go Through A Printer?

Abrasax

Guru
I found a local printer very close to me who sells 1,000 6.25"x9" cards for $300 plus postage, which is a tad bit on the high side but the volume discount could bring it down to $26/lead (assuming 1% response).

Are there good ready made designs I can use or buy or am I better off going through a lead company if I have no experience printing?

If a local printer is a good idea, can you tell me if I'm better off doing EDDM postage or has anyone tried using targeted lists and paying the extra postage?

Thanks for any help!

I used to do direct mail. Then I got training on asking for referrals. I haven't advertised in years since nailing the process. I watch videos, practice, and I keep getting better at it. I get a few referrals for ever sale I get, then I go back and get more.

Direct mail - Expensive.
Referrals - Free.
Direct mail - Low response.
Referrals - High response.
Direct mail - Low close rate
Referrals - High close rate.
Direct mail - Harder sale.
Referrals - Easier sale.
Direct mail - Lots of work, no guaranteed sale, stress, expensive, etc.
Referrals - Lots of time vacationing, dirtbiking, 4wheeling, watching movies, hiking, and spending time with my friends and family.

If you enjoy spending money and having a low close rate, you should focus your energy on DM. If you enjoy a smooth sales process and making money, start watching videos on properly asking for referrals. It's your choice.

I used to do direct mail. Then I got training on asking for referrals. I haven't advertised in years since nailing the process. I watch videos, practice, and I keep getting better at it. I get a few referrals for ever sale I get, then I go back and get more.

Direct mail - Expensive.
Referrals - Free.
Direct mail - Low response.
Referrals - High response.
Direct mail - Low close rate
Referrals - High close rate.
Direct mail - Harder sale.
Referrals - Easier sale.