Does Anyone Have Experience with Agentco

brockosborne

I am looking to learn more about Agentco. I contacted Agentco and heard back from them immediately, and what they had to say sounds good, as does what I have read on their web site. But I tend to be a sceptic and am hoping to hear from people that have worked with them. I have been working for a captive agent for a couple of years now and gained experience. He recently told me he will be retiring in the next year or so it seems like now is the time for me to start planning my next move. Any knowledge of Agentco would be helpful...

Thanks

Interesting. I'm also looking at leaving a captive agency, and from what I've seen from clusters, aggregators, wholesalers, and MGA's, this place's pitch just looks too good to be true.

Probably the only way to know for sure is to read whatever contract they have you sign. I'll probably be looking to talk to them in the near future as well, as my situation is very close to yours (couple years experience with a semi-captive company going independent), but my market is mainly nonstandard, which I can get appointments for, and I just need a couple of standard/preferred carriers to round things out. Looks like this place's caveat is they don't want to load you up with appointments, so barring other issues, it could be a godsend for me. Might not be the deal for you though. Their website does say you can walk away ONCE YOUR BOOK HAS GROWN TO A QUALIFYING LEVEL, which could be any ridiculous number, I guess. Something to find out. Of course, when something sounds too good to be true, there's always the likelihood it is. Their website could always claim one thing, and their contract spell out another. Not to mention it looks like one of those advertorial-type BS websites. Hmm. Best of luck to you.

Last edited:
Any updates? I have to get past a couple business hurdles the next few weeks, but I too will be calling AgentCo. I'd appreciate it if you shared your findings. I will.