Door to Door for life insurance

Sep 11, 2007

1. loginname

loginname Expert

I'm a life insurance agent that sells a variety of life insurance products including term, UL, and VUL.

I need to start generating some name recognition in my town and meet some more people. One idea I came up with is going door to door. It would be a simple introduction possibly with a door hanger if they are not home. I would simply say "I am a local life insurance agent and I'm trying to get out of the office and meet the people in my community. I offer life insurance planning for individuals and businesses. Would you be interested in a life insurance needs analysis and evaluation of your current policy?"

Would something like this work? Give me some advice. What do I put on the door hanger? What should be my starting line? I'm not feeling very creative today:(

2. Frank Stastny

Frank Stastny Guru

State:
    Florida
    For door to door yes, something like that would work very well. I would add one additional comment shown in red. "Would you be interested in setting a time that is convenient for you to have me do a quick insurance needs..."

If they say yes, you should tell you would be happy to do it now if they aren't too busy. That it will only takes a few minutes for them to get added piece of mind about their policies.

However, a presence in community activities and organizations will also serve you well. Join and participate in everything. Volunteer to be a part of what is going on in your community that will give you the greatest amount of exposure.

Be the "go to man" for life insurance.

3. loginname

loginname Expert

Thanks Frank. I am researching the local community organizations also. I will be getting involved at our new church also.

4. Insuranceman

Insuranceman Guru