Dual Agent Opening an Agency

celks72

Expert
I have did a lot of research but no real answers on this. I am a dual agent, currently licensed in life, health, 6, 63, studying for p&c in the state of ohio. I wanting to open a store front. But here is the real questions. What are the steps to do this? is there a fmo that allows you to own your policies( that makes your book of business sellable, or transferable. I also need a broker that will allow me to sell or transfer the book of business when im finally ready to retire. like a said the internet has no real answers , hopefully I can get some here.

how long have you been in business as l&h?

im not sure what dual agent means in this context, you mean agent for 1 carrier 2 IMO/FMO?

I think you are talking about opening a general agency.

I've been in the business 7 years, I'm also a financial advisor
I am wanting to open a general agency, but ice looked through this forum, and no one had really explained how to actaully own your own book of business.
The question is when I open a general agency how do I go through an fmo for p and c, life annuity, broker platform , and be sure if I retire or quit that book of business is owned by me and not the companies I sold through

The first thing you need to realize is that the P&C world is very different from life and health. You don't just get an IMO, you need to join a cluster or work under another agency. With life you can pretty much get a contract with anyone you ask, but with P&C it can be quite the process and it's difficult to qualify. The commissions also tend to be very low (relatively speaking) and as such you might be better off not even bothering and/or just partnering with a shop to send the business to.