E & O Deductible Sharing

agentonline

ok..been reading for some time and appreciate any feed back.

So, I have been a commercial agent for over ten years and have a good book of business. I have been with a 'mom and pop' independent agency for the entire time.

I have NO ownership in the business and I have NO say in the business decisions being made for the agency. I am a w-2 employee and my commission split is less than what the competition offers and I have no other benefits. Just setting the stage here.

Today, I am informed that, moving forward, if an E&O claim is presented to the agency that involves me - I will be responsible for a $1000 deductible.

Question: Is this appropriate? normal? legal?

What say you?

So, I have been a commercial agent for over ten years and have a good book of business. I have been with a 'mom and pop' independent agency for the entire time.

I have NO ownership in the business and I have NO say in the business decisions being made for the agency. I am a w-2 employee and my commission split is less than what the competition offers and I have no other benefits. Just setting the stage here.

Today, I am informed that, moving forward, if an E&O claim is presented to the agency that involves me - I will be responsible for a $1000 deductible.

What say you?

While I'm not a lawyer, I believe this is illegal.

In the early 80's I worked for a very small P&C agency. Although I really was student of insurance I made a mistake on a commercial assigned risk where the client decided he didn't want the policy.

I didn't realize it was different than personal auto in that the carrier did not have to cancel flat. It might have cost us $150 because of my mistake. (And to be honest it really was the 1st one I made in 7 years).

Anyway, the owner to me that if it cost us the $150 he'd take it out of my salary. My response, "Max, it you will do this I quit." He didn't back down and I found a better job in about 10 days.