Equis Contract Termination

MikeCLT89

Hello all,

I need your help!! I'm new to the industry and I recently began contracting with Equis but decided to work for another company (not an IMO), selling insurance (mostly health/medicare). However, I got the appointment process started with Equis and their carriers.

Equis is telling me they can terminate my contract with them but not with the carriers. I'm a little confused because they're saying it will typically take 6 months to be able to re-contract. Is that just with those specific carriers?

In other words can I start my new job without any worries (granted we don't use those carriers) or am I literally not allowed to sell insurance at all based on those individual contracts with the carriers?

Any help is much appreciated!!

Hello all,

I need your help!! I'm new to the industry and I recently began contracting with Equis but decided to work for another company (not an IMO), selling insurance (mostly health/medicare). However, I got the appointment process started with Equis and their carriers.

Equis is telling me they can terminate my contract with them but not with the carriers. I'm a little confused because they're saying it will typically take 6 months to be able to re-contract. Is that just with those specific carriers?

In other words can I start my new job without any worries (granted we don't use those carriers) or am I literally not allowed to sell insurance at all based on those individual contracts with the carriers?

Any help is much appreciated!!
First of all, Equis is blowing smoke as far as most carriers go. If the release you with the carrier, that would effectively cancel the contract with the carrier as far as they are concerned. They just want to try to hang you out to dry for 6 months. You are not prevented from contracting with other carriers. You just won't be able to contract with those with which they had you contracted and refuse to release.