Equity Harvesting

policy doctor

Guru
1000 Post Club
The Wrong and Right Ways
To Use Equity Harvesting!

A few months ago I wrote the article ‘Equity Harvesting & CV Life Insurance!’ In the article we discussed some of the most frequently asked questions about Equity Harvesting. Questions like: “Does Equity Harvesting really work?” “Is Equity Harvesting Truly In Your Best Interest?” “Is Equity Harvesting Just a Scam to Sell Cash Value Life Insurance and Make Higher Commissions?” “What Happens When The Mortgage Interest Rates Rise?” I also stated in the article that… “Equity Harvesting, when done properly, is truly an invaluable financial concept when it comes to accumulating wealth.”
Obviously, I’m a great believer in Equity Harvesting. When it is done properly! I have been using and teaching the concept for 25 years. The problem is that most agents, advisor and planners are not being taught the right ways to use it! And, it’s now coming back to haunt them! Insurance companies are starting to receive complaints from policy owners who have been using the concept for three or more years. Many of these insurance companies have been compelled to put serious restrictions on the use of equity harvesting to avoid future law suites! Midland National won’t accept any business where ‘Equity Harvesting’ is involved. Aviva won’t accept business that involves refinancing, unless the client meets certain financial strength.
The Wrong Ways to Use Equity Harvesting
One of the biggest problems with equity harvesting appears to be the improper use of ‘Option ARM’ loans! In their effort to make as much money as they can from each client, many agents are focusing exclusively on using the minimum payment of the Option ARM. Their goal is to remove as much home equity as possible, to invest in cash value life insurance. And, they are neglecting to mention the future implications.