Erie vs Kemper

I am going to add one of these companies to my agency this year and I would like agent feedback on both. I like certain things about both companies, but can not decide which to chose. I am a NC agent, but would like feedback from any state.

I am looking for feedback on the following for each company:

1. Ease of doing business.
2. Competitiveness.
3. Compensation
4. Claims service
5. Agent relationship

Thanks!

1 vote for Erie, they've hit a bump in the road the last few years with agent relationships, etc but they're on the way to recovery. Very strong company, underwriting, claims, etc I've been with them over 20 years and would choose them as my #1 all over again. FYI, we also have Safeco, Farmers, Travelers and Donegal and only the regional carrier Donegal can come close.

I'm in Pa and NY, plans to go online will likely move ahead in 2009 according to the powers at be. Erie hired a top notch IT guy after the x-CEO's men blew +$50 mil. on a failed IT project. I would look for a newer, less top heavy Erie in the near future as we hope they'll non-renew some division officers contracts and streamline operating systems. Truth be told, Erie is still behind the curve with technology but they have devoted most resources to fixing that issue. Core values at Erie are like no other company you'll contract with IMO.

I actually didn't even know Kemper was still around the P&C, I think they sold their PA book a few years back.