Ethical issue... or not?

G

I was invited to a crab-feed (very popular this time of year on West coast) from the local reps of BeneFit Mall. It is put on by http://www.sahu-ca.com/ and is held in a local church and is a fundraiser for the organization. The tix are $40. I'll be a guest.

I've sent group health business to them. However, AM I at RISK for some kind of ethical violation or conflict of interest if I accept this invitation? I'd like to go as there will be 500 other brokers/agents (members) there and maybe I can make new friends, contacts, etc.

Is it OK in the insurance biz to go to:

http://www.sahu-ca.com/files/SAHU_Crab-Feed_Flyer.pdf

... and not worry about a call from the DOI? (Obviously I'm new to all of this!!!)

Thanks,

Al

go eat some crab......

258874017ced4583a17ocl6.jpg

Wrong one. I checked. Too bad. It would have been fun catching up. We were an item... long time ago.

Oh, you might want to take down the pictures as they are copyrighted by EITHER whomever took them OR whomever published them. One thing I'm certain of is that you don't have permission to post (publish) them here.

If any of these people search the web and come up with the pix, someone here could be in for a legal issue. And since the pix are 'associated' with 'crabs' they could show defimation. However they would have to show damages.. and that believe it or not is not difficult for even a 3rd year law student to do (I once attended laws school... for about three hours!!!) "Coming up" with damages is alwasy the easiest part of a case? Why? Simple. People lie in court.

I don't know much about insurance law, but 15 years in the publishing industry ( http://www.adams-blake.com ) has taught me a bit about publishing law!!!!

Al

no....if a picture is published on the net it is public domain....

http://bressler.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7389&highlight=gray+davis