Ethics question

TJ Swan

Hello All,

I'm pretty new to insurance and brand new to the forum. This is a great resource!

I have a scenario I need feedback on: a top selling Life producer is quoting and selling policies to people in states he isn't licensed in. He is signing their name to paperwork in the office and completing affidavits stating that the out of state client was in his office when the policy was sold, which is not the case. I'm pretty sure his broker knows but looks the other way because of the obvious upside of all the sales. Is this a major problem, and should someone blow the whistle? If yes, how?

Hello All,

I'm pretty new to insurance and brand new to the forum. This is a great resource!

I have a scenario I need feedback on: a top selling Life producer is quoting and selling policies to people in states he isn't licensed in. He is signing their name to paperwork in the office and completing affidavits stating that the out of state client was in his office when the policy was sold, which is not the case. I'm pretty sure his broker knows but looks the other way because of the obvious upside of all the sales. Is this a major problem, and should someone blow the whistle? If yes, how?
Hell yes this is a major problem.......don't do what he does......

Hello All,

Turn him in to the police!!! :policeman:

There should be a compliance department in one of the carriers he uses or even someone above the guy in the office that looks the other way. You can contact them and let them know. They will look into it.

a top selling Life producer is quoting and selling policies to people in states he isn't licensed in.

So how are the policies going to get issued? You have to be licensed and appointed with each company in each state you are selling. That, or he's operating under the agency authority and the principal agent is the one who is licensed.

He is signing their name to paperwork in the office