Experienced agents PLEASE post to this thread!

Hello and Thank you for reading this thread!

I will be taking my 2-15 test in the very near future and then building my insurance career. I have no experience in selling insurance at all.

Can you please share with me and the other readers what you wish someone had shared with you when you were starting out?

If you knew then what you know now... What would you do differently? What advice did you get that helped?

This is what I've been told so far:
  • Be impeccable with my word!
  • Always dress professionally.
  • Act as if hidden cameras were recording (ethical).
  • Keep my car washed and clean.
  • Never park in the driveway.
  • Put a smile on my face on the phone because it will come out in my voice.
  • Always be prospecting (carry business cards at all times).
  • Never try to sell on first introductions (walk in cold calling), just introduce myself. Then the next time we meet, we are not strangers.

I wish someone had told me to loosen up my first year in the biz:

If you walk around handing out your business card to everyone you that you know, your friends and close acquaintances will run when they see you coming.

My advice, be confident, be yourself, and have a great deal of product knowledge, know it well enough so that it doesn't sound rehearsed. ex. I have a stockbroker friend, who has had my account for over 10 years, and when he talks to me about the stockmarket, it still sounds like he's using a script.

My third year in the biz, I was selling life and health to current p&c agents that didn't care to fool with that end of the bizness, not even for themselves, and sent me referrals.

Although they didn't have phrases such as "SEO" when I started, I would highly recommend (at some point during the first 12 months) you become website-savvy and learn how to bring prospects to you...not the other way around.

It works. Well...they say it does. Check back with me in a few years.