Experienced Sales Agent Transitioning Into Insurance

DKinIL

First, thank you to everyone who offers such fantastic information on this forum.

I am an experienced sales professional in the Chicago area with 9 years of sales and sales management/development and 4 years as a marketing director. There are obviously different nuances in different industries, but I know how to organize my time, how to prospect and how to sell. I have decided over time and research that I want my future career in insurance sales. I have done substantial research but I wanted to throw a few questions out to the experts to get a little real world feedback.

1. I understand the differences between independent vs. captive. I do know how to sell and how to prospect but clearly I need to learn that as applied to insurance. It seems as though I would have a better opportunity to "learn the business" as a captive agent. Is this accurate?

2. In my sales experience, I have always believed that the larger and more competitive my arsenal of products, the more opportunity I had to sell but I read a lot of threads on this board about finding a niche and selling to it to develop a business. Thoughts on this?

Thank you!

First, thank you to everyone who offers such fantastic information on this forum.

I am an experienced sales professional in the Chicago area with 9 years of sales and sales management/development and 4 years as a marketing director. There are obviously different nuances in different industries, but I know how to organize my time, how to prospect and how to sell. I have decided over time and research that I want my future career in insurance sales. I have done substantial research but I wanted to throw a few questions out to the experts to get a little real world feedback.