Fair Compensation for Commercial P&C Producer?

JMCS

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Any and all input will be greatly appreciated.

So...I am a producer for an independent agency. I have been in insurance business for about 3 years now and I am loving it!! I started off my insurance career with this agency in somewhat of a CSR role servicing books for very successful producers. This was great as it taught me a lot about the industry and how my agency operates. My previous work experience was in a much more active and fast paced workplace compared to being behind a desk:SLEEP: so after about 4 months of this CSR role and countless hours of study and preparation I was ready to hit the streets running! I started my role as a producer and have had great success up until now.

My agency has recently went through some changes after losing a few producers. These producers all had decent size books of business which have been split and given to me and another new producer to service (annual account review, audit review, handle general coverage issues, etc.). We both have CSR's that handle a lot of the service work but there are still some issues that come up that require my attention. This inheritance of accounts has really cut into my production time which leads me to the main reason for this post.

Lets say a producers commission agreement is 50% of new business commission and 35% of renewal commissions with no base. For easy math we will say that the average commission from company is 10% resulting in a total agency commission of $300,000 on a $3 million book of business therefore making producers renewal income around $105,000/yr.