Fair Deal? Independent Agent/Agency question

Danimal

Expert
I am an independent agent/broker and my core business is Individual Life / Final Expense. Send my own mail and buy my own FaceBook ads then ride around and visit to see who I can help.

Started renting office space last year in a highly reputable, medium sized local independent agency that focuses on homeowners & flood. Great environment and very good relationship between the owner and me has been developing nicely over time. Plus the agency has a nice website and an attractive office building/location so there's some "soft' benefit to my affiliation (vs. home office and no business address or associating with a less appealing shop).

Finally got my P&C license in September and trying to figure out what an equitable commission split should look like between the agency/owner and me. So far we have converted on a handful of one another's referrals, but not exchanged compensation (aside from me paying him rent, which is fine) nor have we put anything in writing.

To underscore - I am totally fine with paying rent. I am happy with the office space and environment, plus the fact that I pay rent helps clearly define the relationship (I'm not looking for a job, set hours or job-like responsibilities to the agency). That said I also did AHIP for the first time this year and picked up a Med Sup carrier and contracts with all the local MediCare providers.. and it seems like the agency owner views those capabilities as a potential asset to the agency...

I guess the three things I want most are: 1) a formula by which I get paid on homeowners flood business I bring in, 2) access to his entire book of business to prospect then pay him a split on that business, and 3) freedom to do what I want and continue making money on things that have nothing to do with the agency.