Farmers Insurance Agency

Maxahearn

I am thinking about starting a scratch agency with Farmers in Georgia? I have plenty of experience in the insurance business. I understand that Farmers has been writing in GA for about three years and they are growing rapidly. I have about 100k to invest plus they have what seems like a great start up package with bonuses and matching commissions. I have only been in GA a short time and I am looking for commentary from either existing Farmers agents or former Farmers agents. Thanks

Just curious, if you've got money in the bank and considerable experience, why open a captive agency? I mean, you're certainly free to do anything you want, but what's the motivation? Why Farmers vs. independent?

Just curious, if you've got money in the bank and considerable experience, why open a captive agency? I mean, you're certainly free to do anything you want, but what's the motivation? Why Farmers vs. independent?

Well OP stated that in GA, Farmers has been expanding rapidly. I'm not sure what contractual agreements are made, but perhaps he could develop some pretty solid relationships with COIs because Farmers-GA has great rates right now. Once the honey moon period comes to an end, which could be today or it could be tomorrow, he can roll that business to an independent agency.

idk.