Farmer's Run to Daylight. Is This Achievable?

mdy4788

Hi, I am currently talking with a recruiter at Farmers.

I've read A LOT about how farmers can be bad, and a little about how it can be ok. A lot of the people who thought it was ok were in their first three years.

Currently I'm in upper store management for a retail chain. Work about 50hrs a week, shifts go back and forth from opening and closing constantly with no consistency through out the week and days off are never consecutive. I make about 35K a year.

I'm wondering what just the first three years of farmers could maybe do for me. Not long term.

Of course I would have licensing, testing, study materials, all of that. About $500.

I'd make 10% commission, and have a subsidy program. If I made the below numbers, I would not be required to pay back the subsidy.

MONTHS P&c Life
6 months 150 13
12 Months 300 25
18 Months 450 38
24 Months 600 50
30 Months 750 63
36 Months 900 75

I am a good salesman. Am I naive to think that these numbers aren't that bad? Could I potentially be making more money than I am now? Could I meet these numbers and be exempt from paying back subsidy?

I could see this as a step for now, and 3 years from now possibly move on to something else, or even a different company.

I could use some advice on how feasible these numbers are. I would hate to be stuck owing money to farmers. Sales area would be St. Louis, Mo. Seems to be one of their best performing districts.

Also I am single, so I don't have anyone to provide for with my money except myself.

Advice for someone who has never been in the insurance game would be appreciated :)

Last edited:
Have you run a Farmers quote on yourself. The biggest problem with being a Captive P&C agent is you live and die by the rates set by the company. If you think Farmers is right for you then it should be your insurance carrier.

I assume these are active policies, not just policies written and later lapsed.