Father wants to pass agency to sons

jcorr

Super Genius
I'm in unfamiliar territory here. I'm a life agent and really don't know much about P&C. My father in law has a one man insurance agency and has done pretty well for himself over the last 15-20 years. He's very much old school, does everything himself and it's worked for him. He's expressed interest in passing the agency down to his sons. One has his P&C license's but very limited experience (as in next to none) and the other is interested in getting his license . I personally think they would work well together. I really think my BIL's could do very well with the business.

There's a couple of reasons I think my BIL's would do well. First is that my FIL doesn't do annual reviews. People call him up when they need a change of coverage, or he calls them if there is an issue with a premium payment. Second I don't think he asks for referrals. It's more of a case of getting a call "My daughter just her car, you need to call her" type of thing. He doesn't use any sort of client management software. And he doesn't even ask about life insurance.

What I would like to know is what I can do to help my BIL's be successful when they take over my FIL agency? My ideas right now are for them to get some training through an independent agency like Insurance Agents & Brokers (I think that's what they do), start using some client management software, set up annual reviews, send out birthday cards, and possibly work with a life agent (me!!). Those are just some of things I see that I believe could double or even triple their revenue.

What ideas or resources would you suggest?

Interesting. Where? What state?

What markets/ companies does FIL have? Is FIL in good standing with the carriers? carriers can pull out in BILs are Ins Ignorant.

How big is book? That might be a good indicator of whether FIL has decent relationships with carriers.

What fed one family might not feed two. Or two families for that matter.