"Final Expense" WL vs. Irrevocable Trust

G

I'm a green agent doing my due diligence, as is so often advised on this board by those with much experience. I am slow, studious, and plodding, I suppose, but I wish to be thorough, minimize any mistakes, and therefore operate in the best interest of the client, well within the boundaries of the law, ethics, and insurance company requirements. I greatly appreciate this board and everyone on it.

I have an issue for which I need advice. I understand the need for getting a good contract with a good insurance company. I am more concerned here about the best interest of the client.

An "acquaintance" of mine introduced me to "final expense" small face whole life policies to help "get me started" in the insurance biz. Turns out the local MGA has imposed a monthly AP quote mid-game, and the particular carrier they use is okay with it (and will yank your contract if you don't comply, as has been mentioned elsewhere on this forum). That's fine, just sounds like it's shaping up to be a "churn and burn" shop at the MGA. But that's not what I'm asking about.

It is apparent that the "final expense" market is low/fixed-income elderly folks. It is this market with which I am concerned.

On a "training" sale that I was involved with, to a low-income, elderly gentleman, he had trouble picking a beneficiary (his wife had passed) since, as he put it, "they ain't none of 'em no count - they'll just put me in a box and run off with the money". That's my first concern. It would seem that a whole life policy will pay the beneficiary with no regard to the "final expense" wishes of the now deceased insured.