Finding Out What a Broker Does

tigoguim

First of all thank you so much for your time and input on this guys. I'm currently a graphic designer but I have reached a point where I know I need a career change.
I have been curious about the insurance industry for a while and I have decided to not wait any longer and start taking classes.

I want to be an insurance broker/ independent agent but there is one thing that I don't understand about it...I have been doing a lot of research online but haven't come across a clear answer, which tells me there might be different approaches and no real right answer or way of doing this.

I have a three part question on how do Brokers go about getting their clients signed up for insurances:

1. Once a client calls you and requests a quote for health insurance, or car insurance; do you then call different agencies to get various quotes then call the client back? Or, do you input the client's information on a computer that holds a database of different insurers and prices?

1a. If it is a software you are using, how do you get it? Do you have to affiliate yourself with a certain insurance group to have this software?

1b.If it is a software you use for the price quotes, is that software limited to particular insurance companies or can you plug in different insurance companies to get quotes from them too?

I have many other questions but this is the most pressing at the moment. thanks guys

I'm quite new to all of this, but since I wandered in here early I'll take a crack at it. I'm sure someone with more experience will be along soon to supplement and/or correct me.