From Captive P&C Agency to Independent P&C Agency

Feb 12, 2019

1. MrMadeWhole

MrMadeWhole New Member

State:
    Texas
    Seeking advice from my wise insurance forum brothers & sisters. We're exiting the captive agency space and moving to the independent agency space. We've been in the captive agency biz for 3.5 years. What options are available for us to get carrier appointments either directly or otherwise that make good business sense? Also, are there other approaches to overcome this challenge. Lastly, please be specific and put it where the goats can get it. Thanks in advance for your time and consideration.

2. EugeneM

EugeneM Guru

State:
    California
    check out the sites search feature. It has been discussed a lot over the years. happy hunting!

EugeneM, Feb 13, 2019
  3. NCAgent828

NCAgent828 Super Genius

State:
    North Carolina
    What type of insurance are you wanting to sell? This may help determine your best options. I was a captive producer for about 10 months before opening my own agency as an Indy agent. Coming from captive will help because captives send monoline business a lot to me. Happy to write for the extra money in the beginning. Opened in April 2018 with SIAA.

NCAgent828, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:05 AM
  4. MrMadeWhole

MrMadeWhole New Member

State:
    Texas
    Will do EugeneM. Thanks.

NCAgent828 - Home, auto, flood, watercraft & small businesses. Does SIAA require you to have $250K, 500K or 1 million in premium before they will talk with you? Thanks.

5. NCAgent828

NCAgent828 Super Genius

State:
    North Carolina
    No, I joined SIAA as a scratch agency. $0 premium on the books.

NCAgent828, Feb 14, 2019 at 3:47 PM
  6. Charlie Downey

Charlie Downey New Member

State:
    Massachusetts