Frustration of a New Insurance Agent

rgeorgi3

Indiana
For those of you that dont know me I'm still pretty new to the insurance industry. My latest complaint and I'm sure its a very familiar one is sales goals.

It's frustrating when last month at this time I was sitting at 15 items and now I'm sitting at 9 with no good leads in the works. I've been try to stay motivated and keep calling but its hard when all day long we are more expensive especially when all it seems that people care about is price in this area.

All I have to do is hit 25 items and I'll get commission but with the holiday and "black friday" knocks 2 days off of this week alone.

What do you guys think about the idea of trying to sell outside of the office as well? Possibly paying for my own leads to follow up with on the weekend?

I guess Im just looking for any suggestions to boost my sales up and make that fat commission check. haha

As always....Thanks in advance

xrac said:
I assume you are we talking P&C here?

Most likely. I doubt if you sell 25 annuities you wont make commission. ;)

honestly do what you have to do. If you only have 25 to call and they wont set, stop by. Talk to neighbors and let them know "im the new rep for (your area) and if you have a few minutes ill show you how we might be of service."

The point is not to get discouraged and if you dont have "prospects" go find some. Just remember sell an appointment first, ask for a ref then sale.

Sounds to me your issue is resources. Increase the people you see and focus your efforts on resources and not sales. If you can grow the people you can call, stop by, and name drop you will get the success you are looking for.

Dont give up just expand your influence.

Good luck and keep us posted!

It sounds like you need more prospects. Since you have to sell 25 policies to get commission, who pays for the leads?