Funeral Trust Questions

Newby

Guru
5000 Post Club
I seem to have a new crop of agents e-mailing and calling me with questions about getting into funeral trusts. I'm going to post one here so others that have the same question can read it.

Mtr. Burke,

I tried to call you on the phone but was told to email you. I am an agent from Texas where I have primarily been involved in Medicare Supplements and Medicare Advantage plans.

Now that Medicare AEP is over, I've been receiving emails from various FMO's asking me to get involved in final expense and funeral trusts. All of them claim I can make at least an extra 10K a month with funeral trusts and I went on some webinar. After attending these webinars, I was still skeptical about their monetary claims and so I did further research on various blogs which eventually led me to yours.

I found your answer about dealing with funeral homes directly to resonate with what I was thinking. I was told from other people that they usually have people who specialize in it who work directly with the funeral homes. So my question is this: How do you approach funeral homes to see how they might be able to utilize my services, whom do you contact usually, and what kind of split do you do with them.

I understand your busy but I'd appreciate some sort of feedback from you as to how to correctly pursue this further.

Thank you,

Agent Bodean

My reply:

Usually the agent who sell funeral trusts successfully gets hired by the funeral home either as an employee or as a contract agent. You usually have an office inside the funeral home and work through their client base and also handle call ins and walk ins.

In most cases you have NO lead cost or marketing expense and often have employee benefits. It's more like a job and not as much freedom as a completely independent agent.

Most agents doing this successfully make from $50,000 to $75,000. Some make less and some make much more.