GA and MGA, What's the Definition and Who is a Good One?

Just getting started in the southern KY area. I've heard all this chatter on here about GAs and MGAs. Someone tell me the exact defiinition of each, ( just want to make sure I've got it right ) and PLEASE recommend good ones to go for. Also please define pros and cons of joining up, or going it alone. I'm new to this, but vast experience in sales. After reading this forum for days - I'm not sure the sales experience matters.

ps - I have thouroughly enjoyed this forum, and cutos to the developer!

Sokybrian
Brian Mulloy
270-535-4349
New Health and Life

Well, depending on who you ask, GAs and MGAs are either a necessary and helpful part of the insurance business or the Unholy Spawn of the Evil Lord Himself.

With health insurance, it's often possible to contract directly with an insurance company (say, for instance, Humana). If you contract directly with a company, then you've never got to worry about anyone but that company paying you (there's no middleman in between you and your paycheck), but you'll lose out on any support a GA might offer. With some health companies (again, let's use Humana) it's impossible to get advanced directly - but you can get an advance if you go through a GA.

On the life side, your options are more limited - there are fewer companies that will allow you to appoint directly with the carrier. You'll frequently find yourself going through a GA/MGA to get appointed, because life insurance carriers (in many cases) won't allow direct appointments without several million dollars in annual premium. Commissions are usually more flexible on the life side, too - you can often take lower commissions in return for more support, or accept higher comp but accept that you'll be getting less hand-holding. Shameless plug alert: you could, of course, get training and support through our organization, leaving you free to get the best contracts out there.

By the way:

GA: General Agent