GA HIPPA Elegable Individual W/ Pre-existing on Cobra Until 6/10

cornelius322

Expert
Hi,

I am a Georgia resident, laid off from a Fortune 500 company 12/31/08 (company group policy is self-insured; insurance managed by United Healthcare). I am currently on Cobra; wrapping up a temp job out of state (that didn't go perm) and returning to Georgia.

If I find myself 6/30/10 without access to group coverage, what are my options? (actually entrepreneurship appeals to me). I am single, 40, and in remission from Crohn's disease that I was diagnosed with in 2008. I take the expensive biologic drug Humira to maintain remission. Since I should be HIPPA eligible, what are my options going to be in Georgia for an individual policy?

My main goals are to prevent getting financially wiped out from a hospitalization. I recognize that my prescription drug benefit (if any) will not be as generous as my current one (I pay next to nothing for my Humira) and that I may have to apply to Abbot Labs (maker of Humira) for their patient assistance program. I am currently on a schedule of having colonoscopies every other year; and my doctor uses a more advanced form of a CT-scan (ct-enterography) to also monitor my condition.

I can accept that my premium might cost as much as monthly rent or a mortgage. My primary question is first and foremost will I be able to obtain coverage, and what is it going to cover?

Thank you in advance for your feedback.

Re: GA HIPPA Elegable Individual W/ Pre-existing on Cobra Until 6

You don't want to hear this, but you are probably all but screwed unless you can come under a group plan . . . or Obamacare, whichever comes first.

GA has a HIPAA conversion plan (assignment) but not a risk pool. Coverage under your former employer is most likely self funded which eliminates the possibility of coming under the assignment plan.