GA question

I have a question for anyone who may have dealt with this situation before. I am an agent for MetLife and we currently use a GA for selling health insurance. The problem I see with this after reading through all of these forum's is that I am possibly getting screwed on the compensation end of things. I have seen several posts about getting advances on commission as well as earning 20%. I don't get any advances and I only earn appx 10% commish which then goes to my grid rate that pays out at 62%. So basically I am getting 62% of 5%. I can go outside of our GA but have to get outside E&O, but I don't know what happens if I join another GA or if I even can. I would like to go outside of MetLife to handle all of this so it will actually be worth it to sell health insurance. Is there anyone who has ever dealt with this before or does anyone have any tips on what I can do or what GA to even go through. I appreciate any help I can get. Thanks! By the way I am here in Arizona.

How long have you been with Met? Are you still working under their agent financing arrangement?

I have been with Met for about 4 months now. The financing just ended so now I am on my own. I put enough money in savings for about a year worth of bills so I am prepared for some lean times in case things don't go well at first. We can't sell all of the different health insurance products through our GA currently so have to either go direct or through another local GA. I wonder if it is worth it to check into other GA's outside of Met so I don't get the haircut on everything I sell or is it even possible to move stuff away from the current GA since Met uses it.

Most likely, once you leave Met you leave behind unearned commissions. If you are in deficit, they may try to collect.

Moving existing business will probably get you in dutch. Don't try it.