General opinions on UL?

NHB_MMA

Guru
100+ Post Club
What do you all think about UL?

I am not a UL expert, but my immediate concern is that it will end up costing an outrageous premium or end up fizzling out. I think it would be hard to truly think of it as permanent insurance.

I'm just really talking about UL and not VUL, which has some additional investment components that can yield more in the interest bearing portion, although I can't imagine someone not surrending that at some point either.

Thoughts?

Today, most UL products offer guaranteed death benefits. In my opinion, to sell otherwise is criminal. Many companies will commission you on target premium, even if you underfund it, thus creating an incentive for agents to do so. However, a properly funded UL can be a great product, as long as the grantee is there.

It is important to note that with most companies, if you ever take a loan on the policy, the guaranteed db disappears. This means that you cannot sell it as a "retirement plan" that also has a db, since you cannot grantee that it will have both.

They have become a staple within the industry and basically is today's permanent insurance product as W/L has seem to taken a back seat to the UL overall. While in any true comparison the UL is more expensive then the W/L dollar for dollar, remember there is no free lunch and you have to pay for the flexiblility.